Skip to content
July 28, 2011 / comocyclechic

What works and what doesn’t

Skirt, Banana Republic via Maude Vintage; Cami, who knows; Huge belt, came on some dress; Scarf, gift; Wedges, Dillard's

Tank top, H&M

For weeks I have been wanting to wear this new-to-me skirt I thrifted but it’s a little long to bike in. Although it’s flowy enough, I thought it would get tangled in the rear spokes. They make skirt guards just for this reason, but I don’t have one yet. Even if I did it would be on my regular bike, which is temporarily out of commission. Since I’m not a patient lady I decided to try something just for the heck of it. I made a garter out of that scarf that has been living on my handbag all week and sort of tucked the skirt into it. My skirt was slightly rumpled when I got to work, but it worked!

Now for what didn’t work. My toddler decided to take a nice, long nap this morning, which rarely happens so I had an extra 75 minutes to spend with myself! I decided to try A Pretty Penny’s hairdo tips because I occasionally get tired of my same old naturally curly hairdo and she made it look really easy. It was and I loved how it turned out, but the helmet ended up working against me. There was this front piece that turned out looking like burned straw when I arrived at work. I couldn’t figure out how to make it look okay so I just sleeked everything back into a bun and made sure my lipstick stayed fresh all day.

So, I came out with a new tip for cycling in a skirt and know that this particular hairdo isn’t going to work for me if I’m going to be riding my bike.

One Comment

  1. keiralennox / Jul 29 2011 8:17 am

    Thanks for the shout-out! I’m so glad you liked the tutorial, and that it worked for you 🙂

Comments are closed.

