Skip to content
August 24, 2011 / comocyclechic

The dress that seems like it would be perfect for a bike ride, but wasn’t

Dress and flats, Old Navy; Belt, off some dress from Envy; Necklace, Plato's Closet

This little old organza dress seemed like it would be great for the bike commute. It was not. The fabric has no give, and it was nearly impossible to ride with any semblance of modesty since I had to hike the thing up around my hips to give my legs enough room to pedal the bike. Luckily I thought to don bike shorts before the ride so no one got a show.

On the bright side, I finally found an attractive way to wear this dress. I’ve had it for years and never thought it was flattering until today. I even got a bunch of compliments from coworkers about it. I won’t be biking in it again, though.

One Comment

  1. Montague Folding Bikes / Aug 25 2011 2:10 pm

    I have had the same experience – I ride a Montague folding bike so I don’t even have a step-through frame! I have learned to pick by skirts/dresses very carefully – I tend to go for jersey and (perhaps most importantly) NO wrap dresses. A disaster even with bike shorts on.

Comments are closed.

