Skip to content
December 5, 2011 / comocyclechic

Cold hands, broke jacket

...

It was 28 degrees out when I left work this evening. Since I was wearing a sweater, wool pants, my husband’s super warm socks and my winter coat I was very comfortable. Except for my hands, that is. The leather gloves I’ve been rocking for the last couple of weeks did not cut it. I need to figure something else out. I got a few blocks before my hands started to hurt. I thought they would just get numb after a while, but the ache never subsided and only got worse.

Now let me tell you about the coat. I’ve been on the lookout for a brightly-hued skirted peacoat and came across this Guess number over at Marshalls. It was almost exactly what I wanted, if slightly too big. I didn’t want to get the one that fit just right because I was concerned I wouldn’t be able to layer thick sweaters under it and thought I might feel too restricted about the shoulders when reaching forward for the handlebars. As I was leaving the house this morning I started buttoning up my new coat, and one of the buttons came off in my hand. Another one came off when I taking off my coat at the office.

Needless to say I was very disappointed. I thought something with a Guess label would be better constructed. I took the thing straight back to Marshalls and exchanged it for a more somber Calvin Klein number, which will make its debut on the blog next week. I decided to save myself a little time during the week so I chose and photographed all my outfits over the weekend. So even though I don’t own this stupid coat anymore you’re still going to see it for the rest of the week.

