Skip to content
December 6, 2011 / comocyclechic

Baby, it’s cold outside

..

I did not ride my bike to work today. This isn’t because I was afraid to ride in the first snow of the season, but because I have no fenders on my rig and I would hate to arrive at work with some gross road stripe on my back.

My husband, however, took a great deal of delight in his commute. While many, many other drivers found themselves in traffic snarls Cody was zipping past them on his trusty mountain bike. Here’s what he had to say about his ride in about half an inch of snow.

“I saw three accidents in the first three intersections I came to.”

“I lost braking power because my brake compound got cold and my rims were wet.” This means his brake pads wouldn’t slow him down quickly enough. This became especially scary when he found himself headed down the hill on eastbound Ash and trying to stop at the intersection at Providence.

“Other than that it was a nice easy ride.”

He said he did feel the bike slip underneath him a couple of times, but did not fall.

And that’s that. He had a great time commuting by bike in the snow. I have to admit I’m a little jealous of his ride. Tomorrow I’m going to bike in and I’m not going to care if the streets are still wet, even if I have to bring an outfit to change into.

2 Comments

  1. Kim / Dec 7 2011 3:51 pm

    You guys are the coolest couple ever!

    • comocyclechic / Dec 7 2011 3:55 pm

      That’s nice of you to say. We’re not really cool in the hip sense of the word. More like generally chilly because of all our cold commutes. 🙂

Comments are closed.

